Magical Thinking..

I originally started this blog as a whiteboard for thoughts on the books I read. I have long since ceased that attempt after the initial 3 postings. However, here is an excerpt from Joan Didion’s The Year of Magical Thinking that caught my eye. Perhaps this was something I was able to associate with

“In trouble, I had been trained since childhood, read, learn, work it up, go to the literature. Information was control.”

I can’t express how excited I was when I stumbled upon this section. It was a weird sense of assurance that swept me – as if here’s a writer speaking to me It’s ok to escape reality this way. Speaking truly, if you are ever depressed, grieved, obsessed, upset, just read. or occupy yourself with some fond activity of yours – be it running, watching movies, cooking, painting, etc. It works.

Leave a comment